top of page

Mesmerizing Boracay


To be honest, Philippines were never in my destinations list and I have never thought of Philippines as a holiday destination. It just so happen that I had to visit Manila for an official trip and then I thought to explore if there are any worth seeing attractions that this South-East Asian country could offer. Since it is an archipelago consisting of more than 7000 islands, it will take you nearly 20 years if you would like to spend one day at each island; so naturally, Philippines had a lot of attractions for a visitor.

Among the interesting destinations like Rice Terraces of Banaue, the longest underground river of Palawan, the Chocolate Hills of Bohol, and beautiful Mayon volcano, I decided to explore the tiny but one of the most beautiful beaches of the world; Boracay.

Boracay is a tropical white-sand island and it is about an hour flight away from capital Manila and it is just off the larger island of Panay. Daily flights are available from Manila to Caticlan and Kalibo International Airport. Usually the flights to Caticlan are less as only small aircraft can land at this airport therefore flight to Kalibo International Airport is recommended but then it is 80 minutes away from Caticlan’s jetty and you need to travel to jetty either by van or a bus. The ride from the airport to Jetty is very pleasant as it takes one through the serene landscapes of mountains, azure coastline and miles and miles of green patches of agriculture.

Once at Jetty, passengers are transferred to boat taxi that drops them to island. Once at Boracay, you can hire a trike to reach to your hotel.

The 7 kms long and less than a kilometer wide island can be divided into four areas typically:

  • South: It actually hosts the jetty and is typically used as entry / exit point for the island.

  • West : The 4 kms long popular beach also known as White Beach that hosts number of resorts, lodging houses, restaurants, markets and other tourism related activities.

  • East: Also known as Bulabog beach and is famous for windsurfing and kiteboarding.

  • North: Hosts Puka beach, a quiet stretch of sand and offers a perfect image of a tropical island: white sand, blue waters, towering coconut trees and it is relatively quieter than White and Bulabog beach so it is recommended for those who seek privacy outdoors.

As we arrived at Caticlan port, we were transferred to a taxi boat after a routine security check. And there occurred an incident to me that raised the respect of Philippines and its people in my heart to the new heights. Actually I left one of my luggages at the port which contains my laptop and most importantly, the passport. I recalled it when I was already in a boat so I quickly come out of the boat and rushed towards the port’s entrance. The security guard of the port asked me the reason I left the axi boat and after knowing the reason, he accompanied me to the point where the mini-van driver dropped us, but there wasn’t any bag there. He asked me if I know the transport company name or if I have a ticket of van but being a Pakistani, we usually don’t keep the tickets once we have got the seat so actually I didn’t kept the ticket. Security guard after realizing this took me to the Caticlan Port’s Security Officer who patiently listened to my ordeal and ordered the guard to take me to the security room where he rewind and played the videos captured through security cameras. After a hectic effort of one hour, I have been able to identify myself in the video and thus the guard identified the transport company that dropped me to the port. He immediately called the company, asked for the driver and then called the driver who actually had my luggage and the most precious passport. I didn’t have the words to thank the guard and the security officer of the port, because without their help, it would be nearly impossible to recover the bag.

My hotel was near the white beach particularly, at Station 2 that hosts the mid-range hotels, lodges & markets and it is also the central point of all the tourism activity that happens around the island. The beach here as the name suggests, consists of white sand, the towering coconut trees, lounge chairs and an endless line of street vendors and shops. The first thing I did is to get a dip in a cool and calm sea as I visited the Island in April which is an Amihan season (November to May). Tourism is also at its peak during this season when the north-eastern winds blow. During the Monsoon season (June – October) the conditions are actually reverse. As you lay yourself few feet under the azure waters and look at the beach, you will be mesmerized by the iconic landscape that surrounds you.

As the sunset approaches, the Paraw (native double outrigger boats) started to appear at the beach to take the visitors for a sunset view at the sea. As the Paraw sails swiftly across the sea, one can see the dynamic colors of the nature that fills the horizon. Parasailers also dotted the skyline and that is another alternative to experience the beautiful sunset while dangling in the sky.

Boracay offers a lot of water related activities. There are about 25 dive sites that cater to all levels of experience. If diving doesn’t suit your mood then snorkeling is a must do activity as Boracay literally has one of the most diverse corals and marine life that will not disappoint you. For adventure seekers, parasailing, kitesurfing and windsurfing are must-do activities. These activities can be combined with half-day boat ride that takes you around the island so wherever you are staying, you would be able to explore the whole island and you can experience the diversity this tiny island offers.

After all the sports, one can enjoy a healthy fruit shake at Jonah’s, take a relaxing dip at the infinity pool of Shangri-La with its mesmerizing view of the sea, or shop for souvenirs and the shell jewelry. Needless to say that one can also experience a glittering nightlife with lots of live music to entertain you while you enjoy your cocktail.

bottom of page